Post MNight Social

For those of you who don’t quite know what it is, MNight stands for Malaysia Night. These are annual performances by Malaysian Societies in universities all over the UK, and while I wasn’t actually there to do any recording or photography on the actual night, I was around for the social afterwards. If I had to come up with two words to describe Malaysian socials in Warwick University… I’d probably go with “food” and “eating”. No Malaysian social is complete without those two.

Awesomegrin is awesome.

Anyway, by the end of it, I didn’t really take that many photos. The final count came to about 80-something pictures. Some I thought were good, some not so much.

DSLRs. They're everywhere these days. :U

You see, I figured that the only problem I’d face was the lack of light which would mean that my photos would come out blurred by long shutter speeds I’d have to use. So I’d had my 50mm F1.4 on for most of the night, thinking it would be sufficient. What I completely forgot about though was that autofocus needs clearly defined edges to work, which aren’t very visible under bad lighting conditions. Long story short, the focus was off in some of the photos. This wouldn’t have been too much of a problem, except the depth of field was tiny, given the lens I was using. As a result, out of focus looked, well, -really- out of focus. It really didn’t help later when they dimmed the lights even more to watch the MNight performance recordings.

At least the focus fail doesn't look too bad... if you're not viewing at it at 100% size.

So I was just happily walking around taking photos, and it was only about 3/4 way through the event that I realised this. Gah. After that, I switched to using my flash, turned on the AF-Assist lamp and things turned out a lot better. Unfortunately, by this time there weren’t as many photos to grab, but I did what I could.

Multiply the number of people by about seven or eight, and you'll have a rough idea of what the whole food queue was like.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable night. Since I’m probably going to pass most of the photos to the society exec, Paul…

The Paul. (Also, ouch @ image blurriness.)

… I won’t upload them all up here straight away. Once those are up, I’ll probably stick a link to them at the Warwick MSA photo gallery in this post. So yeah, keep an eye open for that.

Marcus, Irina and friend. (No, I admit I don't know his name.)

Meanwhile… Maybe I’ll hit Birmingham this weekend.

Leave a Reply

